You may have already visited the old Waubeek web page on our school's web site, but this page adds new information in with the old, and also has various photos.
Waubeek was once a small town on the Chippewa River bottoms located near nine-mile island, about a half-mile from the Durand Rod & Gun Club. The town was formed after a sawmill was built by Cadwallader C. Washburn.
The town consisted of thirteen streets and a public square. There was a hotel, saloon, general store, a dance floor in a barn, a blacksmith shop, sawmill, Baptist church, a photo gallery, houses, and a boarding house. The general store was built by the Knapp-Stout Company. The mill employed about a hundred men. It was considered to be the largest mill in Wisconsin in pre-Civil War times. The town also had a good market. Various people from the area came to Waubeek to trade and sell goods.
A school was also organized in the community in 1861. The school's first teacher was Alice Drake. She was a fifteen-year old from Eau Galle who boarded in Waubeek to teach.
Waubeek was a prosperous little town until a fire in 1870 destroyed the mill. The destruction of the mill caused the town to die as well, and it was soon abandoned. Most of the buildings were either moved or abandoned.
Although the town of Waubeek is dead, its spirit is still alive. The land where Waubeek once stood is now owned by the Schlosser family. They now use the land for hunting and recreation. Waubeek Mound also still stands as a reminder to the town. Legend has it that it was named after an Indian Princess. There are even some mysterious looking hills at the top of Waubeek that some consider to be Indian Mounds.
Photos of Indian Mounds on top of Waubeek Mound.
Click here for more photos!